top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMoksha Poojary

Escape Plan.

If I were to be a poem, this would be it. Currently my mind is filled with thoughts of me trying to find ways to get out of my comfort zone. Yes, I am constantly thinking about this problem of mine where I just can't escape this small bubble that I have created. And let me tell you, it's quite hard to overcome it. It's so hard that I have done it only a few times in my life.

So I thought writing a poem about what I am feeling will make me feel better or help me in some or the other way or at least will inspire me to do something. But no, my expectations were crushed. The only thing that this poem has given me is that it made me realise that it's all in our mind and no amount of external pressure will make you do the things that you want to do, it's all in you, the power lies in you.

So here's the poem:


Thoughts chasing my mind

like calls from my mom

I can never decline.

You see me as I rush through the corridor.

Like I am needed somewhere,

somewhere around my fortress,

where the little girl slept with ease and composure.

She could see the stars right above her

twinkling in her eyes

like they were supposed to be there.

she had a sparkly little bag,

similar to the stars,

so she could carry it around on her shoulders.

It was made of beads.

Thats made it unique

That's what made her unique.

But did she know?

The sparkles were fake,

The beads were plastic,

It broke one day.

She mend it again

but this time,

it shrunk a little

now she couldn't carry it on her shoulders,

So it crawled under her arms

where it poked her skin,

made it pink,

She threw it away as she grew old,

the stars outgrew her,

they didn't need her ,

She didn't need them, anymore.

New plans grew in her mind,

That needed her to escape the fortress.

It was time for her to drive in a different direction.

To be ripped apart from her her imagination.

She wanted to go back home

but she knew, living at her home won't take her anywhere.

To those places she is rooting for,

to those moments she is dreaming of.

She pushed herself,

"Try to unlock the doors

climb the walls"

A meekly voice whispered from the corner window inside.

As if she didn't see the red signs.

Which made no sense to her.

Solutions surfaced one after the other.

But it seemed she didn't want any

Deep down inside she felt an unease,

which was living in there since she was in the process of getting out of that naive little girl,

little did she know,

that the unease was herself

she let it grow voluntarily

as she was scared

scared of coming out in this modern world.

A place where she felt small,

like she was a single dot in the whole drawing

a thread in the whole fabric.

You could really not see her

but she was there

holding it all together.

So what made her hesitate?

Was she really scared?

I ask this question to myself

as the little girl was me, it is me.

I felt an unease again,

Realisation tapped my shoulder

It told me a very small thing

And asked me to apply it to my life,

"A single dot completes the whole drawing and a thread holds the fabric together"

Silence held my soul for a minute or two.

These brief lines propelled me to widen my limitations,

escape myself, the fortress

Fight this struggle,

And win this struggle.

Get close to the farthest planet I can fly to.

And then never stop flying.


Do let me know in the comment section below what your interpretation of this poem was.


Thank you!








17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

© 2023 by Moksha Poojary. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page